Joint Powers Agreement

The Lower Mississippi River Watershed Management Organization (LMRWMO) was formed through a joint powers agreement executed on October 25, 1985, which established and empowered the LMRWMO.

The LMRWMO was formed in response to the requirements of the Metropolitan Surface Water Management Act. The Act required, among other things, the preparation of watershed management plans in the Minneapolis-St. Paul Metropolitan area.

The joint powers agreement outlines the powers and authorities agreed upon by the seven member Cities which comprise the WMO. These include the Cities of Inver Grove Heights, Mendota Heights, West St. Paul, South St. Paul, Saint Paul, Lilydale, and Sunfish Lake.

Agreement Details

Complete Revised and Restated JPA (2001)

First Amendment to Revised and Restated JPA (2011)

Second Amendment to Revised and Restated JPA (2012)

Third Amendment to Revised and Restated JPA (2014)

Exhibit A – Watershed Map

Exhibit B – Allowable Flow Cost Share Allocation

Exhibit C – Water Quality Cost Share Allocation

Allowable Flow Memos – All

Allowable Flow Presentation

JPA Amendment Summary Memo

For more information, please contact:

Joe Barten

Dakota County Soil & Water Conservation District
4100 220th St. W.  •  Farmington, MN 55024